It is Well with My Soul

It is Well 2

 

It’s the beginning of a new year and what better way to start it than with a new DIY project. Today I am pleased to share a wall decal that I made for my dining room. I love this project because the concept is so simple and the possibilities are endless!

What you need:

contact paper
– exacto knife/scissors
– desired design for wall decal
– permanent marker/pencil

What to do:

Trace or draw your design onto the backside of the contact paper. Make sure the right side of the design is facing down. It’s better to trace/draw on the backside so that there are no marks on the front that might show. Next, cut out your design. I chose to use an exacto knife to get a more precise cut. Finally, peel off the backing and stick the cutout on the wall!

I am pretty ecstatic  with how the wall decal turned out. For the past few months, this particular wall had been sitting empty because I couldn’t figure out what to put there. The wall decal was the perfect solution. I chose the lyrics from the famous hymn “It is Well with My Soul”.  I chose a font that wasn’t too complicated or intricate. I had to cut the letters twice: once for the paper printout of the letters and then the actual letters traced onto the contact paper. It was a little time consuming doing all the cutting, but it didn’t seem so bad while watching a couple movies.

IMG_2126

It is well Cover Photo

I love that we will see it every day when we sit down to eat and serves as a daily reminder for us in this house. I even catch the hubby humming it around the house now. 🙂

One thought on “It is Well with My Soul

Leave a Reply

