A Blank Canvas

Whenever I move into a new place, it’s like being given a blank canvas. In past places that I’ve lived in, they primarily reflected basic organization and functionality, but no personality. I’ve always wanted to add the design/decor element in, but because I used to move so often, I didn’t see the point of investing the time, effort, and/ or money.

But that has all changed! The hubby and I recently moved into our first home a couple of months ago, and am glad to say we’re officially settled in. I’m so excited to transform this house into a beautifully organized home.  So what’s the plan? What have we done so far?

The first order of business was paint. Choosing paint colors is fun but daunting at the same time. The color options are endless, literally. I love color, especially bright and fun colors, so I was very excited about this project. But, I also knew I had to pick colors that were safe enough for the hubby to like.  So how to choose? I used Pinterest and Design Seeds to help make my paint color selections. My husband is a very visual person with very little imagination, so it was great to be able to show him what the paint colors would look like in a finished room and color themes that could eventually be incorporated in with the decor.

So here is what we ended up going with!

They’re all neutral colors and vary only in shades from each other (as my husband often likes to point out to me). But I feel that it’s a good start for a blank canvas.

Leave a Reply

